So what kind of photographer do I want to be? No idea …

I have spent a lot of time thinking about this, I still don’t really know. In the past I figured I would always do something in regards to portraiture or studio work. However, it is in this last year that I thought I could do something else, that I can choose what I want to do not based on my training but instead on my interests. I must say I have really enjoyed doing this food photography, even if I may not be so good at it at the moment, it is something to strive for and improve upon. It is funny in a sense, I distinctly remember thinking last year that I couldn’t imagine myself photographing food for a living, but now here I am practising it and enjoying it! It is odd how things change but is just the way of life.

But anyway, now that I have started to branch out and try new things I find myself unsure of what I want to do. I feel I now have more interest in doing work that is completely different to what I originally pictured myself doing. I do still enjoy doing some portraiture though don’t get me wrong, and I love working in a studio and having complete control over the set up and lights and so on. But now I have learned to love how I can perfectly arrange a scene and adjust and move my subject, however I want to. Having that level of control in a shoot is something I do enjoy, that is why, to an extent, I do enjoy taking self portraits, I will have an idea in my head and know how I want the picture to look, and sometimes I find it easier to just do it myself. But now that I have explored various different of photography I am learning more and improving what I can do, whilst gaining experience in various fields of photography.

So to answer the question I really don’t know. I know I could do either food or still life photography or portraiture work and be happy with both, but it is what I really want to do and what I prefer to do that I am unsure about. I hope I still have time to decide! I am happy to see that there is more that I can do then what I originally thought however, it gives me more opportunities at the end of the day. But anyway that is all for today. I shall see you all for a new post soon, until next time!

– Kamilia


Leave a comment